Rescue of a rare giraffe species in Africa

Eight West African giraffes have been transferred to the Gadabedja protected area in Niger

Reading time 4 minutes

Until now, there were no giraffes from West Africa in the Gadabedji biosphere reserve in Niger. These animals still need protection. Illegal hunting, climate change and habitat loss all contributed to the decline in population size. According to the Nigerian publication, eight giraffes were moved to the reserve, this is the first such case for the West African subspecies.  

Биосферный заповедник Гадабеджи (Нигер)
Биосферный заповедник Гадабеджи (Нигер)

In accordance with the initiative of the Nigerian authorities, eight giraffes were caught approximately 60 km south-east of the city of Niamey. There, these animals share their habitat with local communities and compete with humans for natural resources. Often, giraffes come into conflict with people who manage their pastures. Because of this, some individuals go to restless areas on the border with Mali. 

Жирафов перевозили в специальных контейнерах
Жирафов перевозили в специальных контейнерах

The animals were placed in enclosures for three weeks to prepare for the upcoming journey in special trailers. Then they were transported to a new place of residence in the central part of Niger. 

According to the Giraffe Conservation Foundation (GCF), over the past 30 years, the number of giraffes has declined throughout the African continent. The West African giraffe subspecies was once common in many countries, including Nigeria, Mali, Mauritania and Senegal, but is now only preserved in Niger. In the nineties of the twentieth century, only 49 individuals remained in the wild, and in 2008 the subspecies was listed in the Red Book of the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) as endangered.    

Западноафриканские жирафы - самый малочисленный подвид
Западноафриканские жирафы – самый малочисленный подвид

The efforts of the Niger Government in collaboration with local and international partners have led to the revival of the West African giraffe. Since 2005, conservation efforts in Niger have also intensified thanks to the Giraffe Conservation Fund (GCF) and the Sahara Foundation for Nature Conservation.   

Currently, the population size has increased to 600 individuals, and last month this subspecies was reduced by the IUCN to the category of “vulnerable”. Environmentalists believe that the relocation of eight giraffes is a key step in the development of Gadabedzhi as the leading reserve in Niger. They hope that this will help revive the population of the West African giraffe.

Fashion Trends of Fall 2018

How to be classy and not come out too extravagant

Reading time 5 minutes

This year designers have decided to put the emphasis on casual clothing. To stay in style, you should just add a couple of items to your wardrobe.

First – clothes with large plaid prints. This kind of prints could be on shirts as well as on pants. The red-and-black scottish plaid print became the most popular variation of these patterns. This season it has been  used in classic wool coat by Michael Kors and in glossy dress by Alice + Olivia. However, if you for any reason do not like red color or you prefer your clothes to be even more colorful you can follow Versace and wear a suit with yellow-and-blue plaid print.

Леопардовые костюмы неоновой расцветки
Carolina Herrera, Jeremy Scott, Tom Ford, R13; Fall Collection 2018

Leopard print has become a byword, so a lot of people tend to be careful with it. Although, designers are not afraid of experimenting, therefore, leopard pattern has burst into fashion in the most unexpected interpretations. Besides leopard coats and trench coats, you can also wear a leopard pencil skirt in grey tones or a yellow leopard collar over your plaid coat. And if these combinations are not audacious enough in collections of American designers, you can find more extravagant outfits, for instance, a leopard suit with neon colors for night parties.

Многослойность - один из главных трендов осени 2018 года
Hermès, Maison Margiela, Balenciaga, Rochas; Fall Collection 2018

After last winter, when Europe got to know the «Siberian Beast» – the weather front which brought almost Russian like frost – overlayered outfits became fashionable. And this fall designers keep following that trend. To stay tuned in fashion, you can get more clothes with overlayered tailoring or use in your outfits a couple of dense fabricated items. There is an option of combining a couple of warm oversized jackets or wearing a drape bulky coat over a thin one. As an example, you can put on a winter coat over a quilted jacket.

The mania for logos has not gone  away, so big letters stay a fashion trend of this fall. It means that you would better off buying some clothes with lettered prints. If you prefer your style to be more minimalistic, you can just embrace bags with mentioned pattern.

В этом сезоне шубы радуют яркостью и свободой
Givenchy, Oscar de la Renta, Carolina Herrera; Fall Collection 2018

Fashion trends of this fall finally made peace between fur lovers and fighters for animal rights. Although, fluffy fur is still construed to be fashionable, it is has to be synthetic. Even Donatella Versace put away her natural furs. Now fur coats can be embellished with colorful applications, ornaments, and wide colored lines. Natural furs cannot allow designers to use similar color range and patterns: bright orange and neon pink lines, vivid purple dots, fluorescent yellow shortcuts. Also, this kind of fur coats is more democratic in price.

This mellow fall is keep surprising us with unexpected designer decisions: dresses with waist cuts , lacquered coats, outfits with two belts over mini-skirts. One thing stays obvious – this fall 2018 is a great time to use your imagination and try unexpected combinations.

Спасение редкого вида жирафов в Африке

В заповедную зону Гадабеджи в Нигере переведены восемь западноафриканских жирафов

Время чтения: 4 минуты

До сих пор в биосферном заповеднике Гадабеджи в Нигере не было жирафов из Западной Африки. Эти животные до сих пор нуждаются в защите. Незаконная охота, изменение климата и утрата мест обитания – все это способствовало снижению численности популяции. Как сообщает нигерийское издание, в заповедник переселили восемь жирафов, это первый случай такого рода для западноафриканского подвида.

Биосферный заповедник Гадабеджи (Нигер)
Биосферный заповедник Гадабеджи (Нигер)

В соответствии с инициативой нигерийских властей восемь жирафов были отловлены примерно в 60 км к юго-востоку от города Ниамей. Там эти животные делят свою среду обитания с местными общинами и конкурируют с человеком за природные ресурсы. Нередко жирафы вступают в конфликт с людьми, которые хозяйничают на их пастбищах. Из-за этого некоторые особи уходят в беспокойные районы на границе с Мали.

Жирафов перевозили в специальных контейнерах
Жирафов перевозили в специальных контейнерах

Животных поместили в загоны на три недели, чтобы подготовить к предстоящему путешествию в специальных трейлерах. Затем их перевезли на новое место жительства в центральную часть Нигера.

По данным Фонда охраны жирафов (GCF), за последние 30 лет численность жирафов сократилась по всему африканскому континенту. Подвид западноафриканских жирафов был когда-то распространен во многих странах, включая Нигерию, Мали, Мавританию и Сенегал, но теперь сохранился только в Нигере. В девяностых годах двадцатого века в дикой природе оставалось всего 49 особей, и в 2008 году подвид был занесен в Красную книгу Международного союза охраны природы и природных ресурсов (МСОП)  как находящийся под угрозой исчезновения.

Западноафриканские жирафы - самый малочисленный подвид
Западноафриканские жирафы – самый малочисленный подвид

Усилия правительства Нигера в сотрудничестве с местными и международными партнерами привели к возрождению западноафриканского жирафа. С 2005 года усилия по охране природы в Нигере также активизировались благодаря Фонду охраны жирафов (GCF) и Сахарскому фонду охраны природы.

В настоящее время численность популяции возросла до 600 особей, и в прошлом месяце этот подвид был понижен МСОП до категории “уязвимые”. Защитники природы считают, что переселение восьми жирафов является ключевым шагом в развитии Гадабеджи как ведущего заповедника в Нигере. Они надеются, что это поможет возродить популяцию западноафриканского жирафа.

Модные тренды осени 2018

Быть стильной и не переборщить с экстравагантностью

Время чтения: 5 минуты

В этом году дизайнеры решили внести драйв в повседневную одежду. Чтобы не отстать от моды, стоит лишь добавить в гардероб несколько вещей.

Первое – одежда в крупную клетку. С таким узором можно носить как рубашки, так и брюки. Самой распространённой версией стала красно-черная шотландская клетка. В этом сезоне ее использовали и в классическом шерстяном пальто от Michael Kors, и в глянцевом платье от Alice + Olivia. Но если красный по каким-то причинам вас не устраивает, или хочется, чтобы жизнь была еще ярче, то можно последовать примеру Versace и надеть пиджак и юбку в сине-желтую клетку.

Леопардовые костюмы неоновой расцветки
Carolina Herrera, Jeremy Scott, Tom Ford, R13; коллекция осень 2018

Леопардовый принт уже стал притчей во языцех, поэтому многие относятся к нему осторожно. Но дизайнеров это не остановило, и леопард ворвался в гардеробы в самых неожиданных интерпретациях. Кроме пальто и тренчей классической леопардовой расцветки можно надеть леопардовую юбку-карандаш в серых тонах или желтый леопардовый воротник поверх клетчатого пальто. А если бунтарства в классическом леопарде вам недостаточно, то американские модельеры предлагают более экстравагантный наряд, например леопардовый костюм неоновой расцветки для ночной вечеринки.

Многослойность - один из главных трендов осени 2018 года
Hermès, Maison Margiela, Balenciaga, Rochas; коллекция осень 2018

После того как прошлой зимой Европа познакомилась с «Чудовищем из Сибири» – атмосферным фронтом, который принес почти российские заморозки,- в моду вошли гиперслойные наряды. И этой осенью дизайнеры продолжают двигаться в том же направлении. Чтобы оставаться в тренде, можно пополнить гардероб одеждой с многослойным кроем или использовать несколько слоев плотной одежды. Можно надеть друг на друга теплые широкие куртки или объемное драповое пальто поверх тонкого, летнего. Как вариант подойдет дубленка, надетая на стеганую куртку.

Логомания никуда не исчезла, и крупные буквы по-прежнему остаются одним из главных трендов этой осени. Стоит прикупить себе пару вещиц с принтом из крупных букв. Если в одежде вы предпочитаете минимализм, то для украшения гардероба можно обзавестись хотя бы сумочкой с упомянутым принтом.

В этом сезоне шубы радуют яркостью и свободой
Givenchy, Oscar de la Renta, Carolina Herrera; коллекция осень 2018

Этой осенью мода примирила любителей меховых шуб и борцов за права животных. Несмотря на то, что пушистый мех по-прежнему считается трендом сезона, теперь он просто обязан быть искусственным. От натуральной меховой шубы отказалась даже Донателла Версаче. Теперь шубы украшаются аппликациями из цветов, узорами и широкими цветными полосками. Натуральные меха не смогли бы обеспечить столь разнообразную цветовую гамму: в ярко-оранжевую и неоново-розовую полоску, ярко-фиолетовые в крапинку, укороченные флуоресцентно-желтые. Также огромным плюсом такой шубы является более демократичная цена.

Золотое время года не перестает радовать неожиданными модными поворотами. То у платья разрезы на талии, то лаковые пальто, то два ремня, надетые поверх мини-юбки. Одно можно сказать точно, осень 2018-го – отличное время использовать свою фантазию и подбирать неожиданные наряды.